Contacts

Contacts

The 2035Legitimacy project brings together researchers in the fields of law, economics, sociology, and climate science.

The project is truly multidisciplinary, pursuing collaboration and dialogue across different disciplines while examining legitimacy considerations in Finnish climate policy.

Project management and coordination

Researchers

University of Helsinki

Päivi Leino-Sandberg

Professor (Transnational European Law), WP4 leader, Law
paivi.leino@helsinki.fi

Tiina Paloniitty

Postdoctoral Researcher, Law

Expertise:
Aarhus Convention; AC in the EU; EU climate law and policy; legitimacy of EU’s climate lax

Research topics:
Access to environmental and climate information in the EU; access to justice in climate-relevant matters in the EU; public participation to climate decision-making in the EU


tiina.paloniitty@helsinki.fi

Finnish Meteorological Institute

Harri Kokkola

Senior Scientist, Atmospheric Science (Aerosol Modelling), WP5 leader

Expertise:
Climate modelling; physics of climate change

Research topics:
The effects of climate pollutant reductions on climate and air quality

harri.kokkola@fmi.fi

Kari Lehtinen

Professor (Theoretical and Numerical Aerosol Physics and Dynamics)

kari.lehtinen@fmi.fi

Heikki Tuomenvirta

Senior Research Scientist, Atmospheric Science (Meteorology)

Expertise:
climate change impacts, climate risks, adaptation

Research topics:
Distribution of climate change impacts and risks

heikki.tuomenvirta@fmi.fi

University of Jyväskylä

Suvi Huttunen

Senior Lecturer, Social Sciences

suvi.huttunen@syke.fi

Anni Turunen

Doctoral Researcher, Social and Public Policy

anni.turunen@syke.fi

Teea Kortetmäki

Postdoctoral Researcher

Expertise:
Climate justice and justice in climate action; social acceptance of policies

Research topics:
Employment impacts and related perceptions of policy legitimacy

teea.kortetmaki@jyu.fi

Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE)

Antti Belinskij

Research Professor, WP3 leader, Law

Expertise:
Climate policy integration in national environmental law

Research topics:
Climat change plans, appeals, permit procedures, law preparation

antti.belinskij@syke.fi

Paula Leskinen

Researcher, Law

Expertise:
Regulatory climate impact assessment

Research topics:
Climate policy integration (the role of national law), regulatory climate impact assessment

paula.leskinen@syke.fi

Anu Lähteenmäki-Uutela

Senior Research Scientist, Law

Expertise:
Justice; basic and human rights

Research topics:
Environmental rights

anu.lahteenmaki-uutela@syke.fi

Seita Romppanen

Senior Research Scientist, Law

Expertise:
EU environmental law, EU climate law; LULUCF and Effort Sharing Regulations; the legitimacy of EU climate law framework

Research topics:
Role of knowledge and science in EU environmental and climate law; integration of legal fields and relevant legal interfaces from climate law’s perspective, sub-national climate governance

seita.romppanen@syke.fi

University of Eastern Finland

Tuula Honkonen

Senior Lecturer (International Law), Coordinator, Law

Expertise:
National climate acts; participation and access to information

Research topics:
Participation and access to information within the UN climate negotiations from the perspective of Finnish actors

tuula.honkonen@uef.fi

Vilja Johansson

Junior Researcher, Law

Expertise:
Climate law and justice

Research topics:
Just tranistion as a legal concept

vilja.johansson@uef.fi

Kati Kulovesi

Professor (International Law), Principal Investigator, WP1 leader, Law

kati.kulovesi@uef.fi

Nicola Sharman

Early-Stage Researcher, Law

Expertise:
Public participation; international climate change negotiations; Aarhus Convention

Research topics:
Public participation in international climate change negotiations

nicola.sharman@uef.fi

Harro van Asselt

Professor (Climate Law and Policy), Law

Expertise:
International climate change negotiations; Linkages between climate change and international economic law

Research topics:
Transparency in international climate change negotiations

harro.vanasselt@uef.fi

Maiju Mähönen

Project Researcher

Expertise:

EU law and policy, Finnish Climate Change Act

maiju.mahonen@uef.fi

VATT Institute for Economic Research

Marita Laukkanen

Chief Researcher, Vice-PI, WP2 leader, Economics

Expertise:
Carbon pricing, climate policy evaluation, climate policy and competitiveness, distributional effects of climate policies

marita.laukkanen@vatt.fi

Kimmo Ollikka

Senior Researcher, Economics

kimmo.ollikka@vatt.fi

Advisory Board

  • Jonas Ebbesson,Stockholm University
  • Peter Newell, University of Sussex
  • Karin Bäckstrand, Stockholm University
  • CJ Brian Preston, New South Wales Land and Environment Court
  • Heta-Elena Heiskanen, Ministry of the Environment
  • Leo Parkkonen, Ministry of Finance
  • Matti Kahra, The Confederation of Finnish Industries
  • Mikael Kirkko-Jaakkola, Taxpayers Association of Finland
  • Pia Björkbacka, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions
  • Leila Kurki, Finnish Confederation of Professionals
  • Kaisa Kosonen, Greenpeace Finland
  • Marja Järvelä, University of Jyväskylä